Hans Friedmann

Dr. Hans Friedmann

dedicates his professional activities to the further development of the biogas technology since 1984 both nationally and internationally. Besides the consultation work and the realization of bioenergy projects he participated in many years of association work in the creation of political and legal framework conditions for the biogas production in Germany. Strongly increased requirements for efficiency and flexibility of the plants set new standards for the biogas technology today and are motivation for Dr. Friedmann to support an active knowledge exchange in practice. Within the international activities the processing of residues of the sugar industry became a focus. Moreover Hans Friedmann operates since 2001 biogas plants with a capacity of up to 5 MW with BKW Biokraftwerke Fürstenwalde GmbH founded by him.

Mechanical Decomposition of Substrates for Increase of the Biogas Yield

Besides encymes the mechanical decomposition of substrates is most widespread. We as biogas plant operators use mechanical decomposition of substrates as long as we operate plants. In case of liquid manure animals…

About the Sense of Decomposition Procedures

 

Many „new“ procedures to increase the biogas yield from the substrates are developed and propagated particularly in economically difficult times. The best known techniques at the market are

  • use of enzymes for decomposition…

Sense and Necessity of the Micronutrient Addition

Micronutrients or trace elements (these are mostly heavy metals) are needed in all biogas plants. The micronutrients are the central atoms in the enzymes which must be produced by the methane bacteria…

Acidification of the Digester

At the operation of biogas plants acidification of the digester is one of the most expensive problems. When the digester biology is acidotic, it can possibly last months, till the plant has…

Analysis of the Supply with Micronutrients in Biogas Plants – Expensive and Useless?

The analysis of the micronutrient concentrations in the digester supplies no usable information about the level of supply of the digester biology. These costs can be saved. The use of individual mixtures makes no sense, as the level of supply cannot be sensefully detected. A safe micronutrient supply of the digester biology is only possible by the correct addition of a defined product adjusted to the growth of the bacteria population.

My Story With the Use of Micronutrients in Biogas Plants

We develop and pursue the use of micronutrients or essential trace elements since over 25 years. The experience shows, that micronutrients as Acinor 1000 lead to an improvement of the process stability in all plant types, also with the use of liquid manure. High loading rates are only feasible with the addition of micronutrients.

Selfheating and Cooling of Digesters

When I started constructing and commissioning the first high-loaded biogas digesters (digester load 8-10 kg oDM/cbm/d) in 2005, an unexpected phenomenon appeared – the digesters warmed up by themselves in summer without activated heating. The real problem was the too fast increase of temperature, leading to a breakdown of the biology. In a few weeks the planned digester temperature of 39 °C increased to 43 °C, and the digester biology suddenly became unstable.

The Influence of Temperature on the Biogas Production

The still common understanding assumes the existence of a mesophilic (35 – 40 °C) as well as a thermophilic (50 – 55 °C) temperature range for the biogas production. More stable biological…

Hans Friedmann

Dr. Hans Friedmann

widmet seine beruflichen Tätigkeiten seit 1984 der Weiterentwicklung der Biogastechnologie im In- und Ausland. Neben der Beratungsarbeit und der Realisierung von Bioenergieprojekten beteiligte er sich in vielen Jahren der Verbandsarbeit an der Gestaltung der politischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen für die Biogaserzeugung in Deutschland. Stark gewachsene Anforderungen an Effizienz sowie Flexibilität der Anlagen setzen heute neue Maßstäbe für die Biogastechnologie und sind Ansporn für Dr. Friedmann, einen aktiven Wissensaustausch in der Praxis zu fördern. Bei den Auslandsaktivitäten hat sich die Verarbeitung von Reststoffen aus der Zuckerindustrie zu einem Schwerpunkt entwickelt. Darüber hinaus betreibt Hans Friedmann mit der von ihm gegründeten BKW Biokraftwerke Fürstenwalde GmbH seit 2001 Biogasanlagen mit einer Leistung bis zu 5 MW.

Mechanischer Substrataufschluss zur Steigerung der Biogasausbeute

Neben den Enzymen ist der mechanische Aufschluss von Substraten am weitesten verbreitet. Mechanischer Aufschluss der Substrate wird schon immer im Biogasanlagenbetrieb eingesetzt. Dabei gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten wie Substrat zerkleinert werden kann:

  • Bei…

Über den Sinn von Aufschlussverfahren zur Biogasertragssteigerung

Gerade in wirtschaftlich schwierigeren Zeiten werden viele „neue” Verfahren entwickelt und propagiert, um die Biogasausbeute aus den Substraten zu steigern. Die bekanntesten Techniken am Markt sind

  • Enzymeinsatz zum Aufschluss und zur Viskositätsminderung
  • mechanischer Aufschluss…

Sinn und Notwendigkeit der Spurenelementzugabe

Mikronährstoffe oder Spurenelemente (das sind meist Schwermetalle) werden in allen Biogasanlagen benötigt. Die Mikronährstoffe sind die zentralen Atome in den Enzymen, welche die Methanbakterien bilden müssen, um Biogas erzeugen zu können. Ohne…

Übersäuerung des Fermenters

Eines der teuersten Probleme beim Betrieb von Biogasanlagen ist die Übersäuerung des Fermenters. Ist die Fermenterbiologie übersäuert, kann es u.U. Monate dauern, bis die Anlage wieder auf Leistung ist und die geplanten…

Analyse der Spurenelementversorgung von Biogasanlagen – Teuer und sinnlos?

Die Analyse der Mikronährstoffkonzentrationen im Fermenter liefert keine brauchbare Aussage über den Versorgungsstatus der Fermenterbiologie. Diese Kosten können gespart werden. Der Einsatz individueller Mischungen ist nicht sinnvoll, da der Versorgungsstatus nicht sinnvoll bestimmbar ist. Eine sichere Mikronährstoffversorgung der Fermenterbiologie ist nur durch korrekte Zugabe eines definierten Produktes, orientiert am Wachstum der Bakterienpopulation möglich.

Meine Geschichte mit dem Mikronährstoffeinsatz in Biogasanlagen

Der Einsatz von Mikronährstoffen oder essentiellen Spurenelementen wird von uns seit über 25 Jahren verfolgt und entwickelt. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass Mikronährstoffe wie Acinor 1000 in allen Anlagentypen, auch beim Einsatz von Gülle, zur Verbesserung der Prozeßstabilität führen. Hohe Raumbelastungen sind nur mit Zugabe von Mikronährstoffen machbar.

Selbsterwärmung und Fermenterkühlung

Als ich 2005 damit begann, die ersten hoch belasteten (Raumbelastung 8-10 kg oTS/cbm/d) Biogasfermenter zu bauen und in Betrieb zu nehmen, trat ein unerwartetes Phänomen auf – im Sommer wurden die Fermenter…

Der Einfluss der Temperatur bei der Biogasproduktion

Ist es nicht recht unlogisch, dass es zwischen 40 und 50 °C keine Bakterien geben soll, die sich optimal an dieses Temperaturfenster angepasst haben? Ich weiß mittlerweile, dass die mesophil – thermophil – Lehre falsch ist, auch wenn sie selbst in neuesten Richtlinien einmal mehr abgeschrieben wurde. Ich betreibe Biogasanlagen seit mehr als 15 Jahren mit Fermentertemperaturen zwischen 30 °C und 55 °C und sehe keinerlei Unterschiede in Methanausbeute und Prozessstabilität.